The Warm Milk Journal

A nurturing place for people who can't sleep

My Heart Goes Out To You


Dear tired reader,

If you are on your computer reading this because you can’t sleep, my heart goes out to you. I have so been there. I have been challenged with anxiety issues most of my adult life. Over the years I have suffered from social anxiety, regrets, worries about my past, worries about my future, worries about my health, worries about my children, worries about my spouse,  worries about the house, worries about my finances, worries about my parents’ health,  worries about our planet’s health,the problems of our society- you name it, I have probably worried about it. For a couple of years I was on Clonazapam, an anti anxiety drug, just so I could sleep at night.  I have been off this drug for two and a half years now.

Happily, I have enjoyed a very peaceful, centered, and relatively anxious-free state for quite a while now. It hasn’t happened over night but I am doing very well.  This is why I decided to start this blog to help others out there who may be experiencing similar challenges with sleep and anxiety.

For the last few years I have learned some wonderful tools about learning how to deal with change, stress, and anxiety. I am not any kind of a medical, sleep “professional”. I am just a regular person who knows what it is like to not sleep at night due to anxiety. As I develop this site I will continue to offer my support and give you some ideas on dealing with this issue. I know how debilitating anxiety and not getting your sleep can be. If I could I would reach out and take your hand or give you a hug I would.

You will be alright. You are alright now. Believe it.

March 21, 2010 Posted by | Self-empowerment | , , , , | Leave a comment

A Worry Journal


We all worry. So why not worry productively? We can set aside a specific time in our day to “worry”. Get out our journals or a notebook specific for this purpose. On one side of a page write down the worry. On the other side write down something you can do about it. This can by any little action step that moves you closer to a solution to the problem.

That’s it. Then, when your mind starts doing its over thinking, worrying thing, you can remind it that it has already had its time to worry for the day. Tell it to relax.

March 21, 2010 Posted by | anxiety, Benefits of Journal Writing, Tips to help insomnia | , , , | 2 Comments

“A Well Spent Day Brings Happy Sleep” – Leonardo Da Vinci


How are we spending our days?

Do we find time to do things that we enjoy, that challenge us, that promote connecting with others? For many years I was a stay at home mom. Although raising young children is rewarding it can be lonely and isolating (at the time I was living in Seattle and the climate probably didn’t help). I think I experienced some of my worst anxiety during those years. I would get myself out by working out at the gym, having lunch with friends, doing playgroups with other moms, joining a bunco group, becoming a Girl Scout leader etc.

We humans need: social interaction, mental stimulation, projects- things to do! We need a sense of purpose.

I think people who are alone a lot may be particularly prone to depression, anxiety, and insomnia. This group may include: stay at home moms, self employed people, any one who works from the home, retired folks, the elderly.

I would encourage anyone who is alone a lot during the day to get out and connect with others, start a project, a new hobby, join a club of some kind, do volunteer work- stay busy.

Then, at bedtime, your mind will think “time for a rest. I have put in a full day.” Good night!

March 21, 2010 Posted by | Quotes | , , , , | Leave a comment