The Warm Milk Journal

A nurturing place for people who can't sleep

Feeling Overwhelmed On Our “Low” Days


We all have high level energy days and low energy level days. When we feel good and have a lot of energy it is easier to tackle whatever life has for us. We feel more competent and confident. We feel more “on top” of things!

What happens to us though on our low days? We still have the same life, same circumstances, responsibilities, goals, etc. Somehow it all feels more overwhelming when we don’t feel our best, doesn’t it? When I feel low (from lack of sleep, being sick, time of the month, or just in a low mood), I feel daunted by things which on better days I am feeling great about. It is strange. It is almost like I am two different people. On these low days, my brain almost wants to shut down because I feel like I just can’t do it all or really any of it (if I feel bad enough).

Here are some thoughts about how to handle these low days:

  1. Low energy days are a part of life. They will come and go like clouds passing. They won’t last forever.
  2. Just be easier on ourselves on these days. Our perceptions are a bit clouded right now. We don’t feel our best. Accept that and be easy.
  3. Tomorrow is another day. Not getting anything accomplished on your to-do list today? Well, so be it. Who says we have to constantly work on a dead line anyway?
  4. Do something that is nurturing for you: nice cup of coffee or tea, read something relaxing, take an easy stroll, nap
  5. The world is not going to stop revolving on its axis just because we are not our super dynamo selves today.
  6. Listen to your body. If it is telling you to take it easy then do so. Our bodies have intelligence. Perhaps we just need to recharge. When we come back from this low period we will have lots more energy and creativity for the tasks we put on hold.
May 10, 2010 - Posted by | Self-empowerment | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. […] Original post: Feeling Overwhelmed On Our “Low” Days « The Warm Milk Journal […]

    Pingback by Feeling Overwhelmed On Our “Low” Days « The Warm Milk Journal | feelgr8.net | May 10, 2010 | Reply

  2. […] was wondering about good days and bad days and noticed that The Warm Milk Journal posted on the subject today.  I found an affirmation there one day that really struck me – I […]

    Pingback by Wondering about wondering why « Life is terminal. | May 10, 2010 | Reply

  3. Thank you for reading The Warm Milk Journal. I am glad you found something of value. I find reminding myself “I am safe” helpful too. I have a little sticky note with that affirmation on my desk at work and near my bedside table.

    I hope you are having a lovely day.

    Debra : )

    Comment by debratech | May 10, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

