The Warm Milk Journal

A nurturing place for people who can't sleep

An affirmation for breathing


Breath is the gift of life. If we are not breathing we are not living! So every breath we take truly is a gift. As much as we can, let’s be aware of our breathing. If we are getting stressed or hurried, we can just slow our breathing down, breathe deeper into our bellies, and then fully exhale. I like to do this when I am doing mundane things like driving my car or washing the dishes. When I’m waiting in line is a good time as well.

In an earlier post, I referred to one of my favorite books, Louise Hay’s Heal your Body. She describes breath as “the ability to take in life”.  The affirmation she prescribes for good breathing is as follows: ” I love life. It is safe to live”.

This is a wonderful affirmation to try anytime during our day including times at night when we want to sleep.

Let’s try it. Breathe in deeply: “I love life. It is safe to live”. Breathe out. Repeat

Other simple affirmations that really work for me are ” I am safe”, “I am love”, “God loves me”, “I am enough”, and just meditating on the word “peace” or “I am peace.”

May 1, 2010 - Posted by | anxiety, insomnia, Meditations, Self-empowerment, Spirituality | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

