The Warm Milk Journal

A nurturing place for people who can't sleep

Getting in the habit of setting good intentions


Setting intentions can move our lives in a more positive direction. It gets us moving forward, purposefully. We are more conscious about the kind of day we are going to have, what we want to accomplish the next year, five years out etc. I find that when I set a positive intention, say for my day, I am more positive and complain less- and guess what, I tend to have a happier day. I think others around me pick up that positive energy as well and they seem to be more cheerful and friendly.

How do we set an intention? We could certainly write one in our journals, mention it in our prayers or meditation, or share it with someone in our life. I find I do very well when I share an intention with someone close to me. There is kind of an accountability factor in sharing intentions with another person.

So give it a try! What is one good intention that you can set for the day?

I, Debra, am setting an intention for this day, Wednesday April 28, 2010 to be present with every person I encounter today.

Have a wonderful day!

April 28, 2010 - Posted by | Self-empowerment | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I am trying too! I want to set intentions for things that I want that maybe I haven’t even thought about or realized. Kind of like going to a buffet and wanting to take a taste of lots of things….I want to intend more specifically, but also more creatively.
    I intend open road in front and behind me when I am driving out of town and it always works and I totally enjoy my drive so much more. So….what about things that we take for granted that we really could intend differently? Such as, a parking place in front at the post office, an office meeting that is short, sweet, fun, productive and to-the-point? The perfect gift for Mom since Mother’s Day is almost here. Got any fun ideas? I tend to be so practical. I want fun!!

    Comment by youluckybum | April 28, 2010 | Reply

  2. How about we set an intention to: be open to opportunities out there, make space for special new people and things in our lives, new adventures, being open to stretching ourselves and trying new things, smile at everyone we see today, give several hugs a day, etc. I am sure we can come up with more ideas. I love the angel parking space idea. I have done that and it has worked! Cheers. : )

    Debra

    Comment by debratech | April 28, 2010 | Reply

  3. I absolutely agree with the power of writing an intention down. But if this feels way too hard then as Debra said, telling someone or simply saying it out loud is very powerful. There is a definite flow-on effect when we start the day with a positive mindset. Everything just goes more smoothly. You get better with practice.

    Comment by Tricia Woods | January 20, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks for your comment, Tricia. Have a restful night. Debra

      Comment by debratech | February 1, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

